Shrimp n Grits… or something like it

Recently while on a little day trip and looking for a bite to eat, I saw “shrimp and grits” on the menu- something I had never seen before.  Sounds a lot like a Southern dish but whether Florida really counts as part of the south or not, I’m sure I’d never heard of such a thing.  Unfortunately for me, I ended up eating somewhere else but the dish has been on my mind ever since.  After a quick search for recipes on the internet and not finding anything that really tickled my fancy, I’ve come up with this concoction, which I’m not sure is similar to the real thing or not, as I have yet to try it still.

  • 1 1/2 c. grits or yellow cornmeal, 2 1/2 – 3 c. water
  • 1 T butter + 1 T butter
  • 2 T olive oil
  • one red pepper, sliced
  • one yellow onion, sliced
  • 2 dozen shrimp, peeled and cleaned
  • salt-free seasoning ~1 T
  • Cajun seasoning ~3 t
  • red pepper flakes ~1 t
  • ground black pepper

Prepare grits or yellow cornmeal according to package plus one tablespoon butter.

Combine shrimp, Cajun seasoning, red pepper flakes, black pepper and keep in fridge until use.

In a medium pan heat olive oil and saute red pepper and onion, plus salt-free seasoning.  Set aside.

In pan melt one tablespoon butter and add shrimp.  Cook a few minutes on each side, turning once.

Plate grits with pepper and onion and shrimp on top.  Serves 3.

Leave a Reply

