Music’s Best of the Decade

It’s that time of year again in the music world when magazines and websites become flooded with their “Best of” lists.  This, of course, would include the best albums of the year, and, this year, the best albums of the decade.  While it’s entertaining to read what the “big guys” come up with, I’m way more interested in hearing what albums other people like me keep going back to over time.  Music has a way of evoking feelings like nothing else can, able to take you back to those good and not-so-good times of your life almost as if you are reliving those exact moments.  Memories and experiences are what make these personal connections to music so strong and unique, making each person’s list fascinatingly different from the next.

What’s been your soundtrack this past year… or ten?

My top 25:

25. Modest Mouse: Good News For People Who Love Bad News

24. Grandaddy: The Sophtware Slump

23. Brand New: The Devil And God Are Raging Inside Me

22.  Iron & Wine: The Creek Drank The Cradle

21. Arcade Fire: Funeral

20. Dirty Projectors: Bitte Orca

19. Animal Collective: Merriweather Post Pavilion

18. MGMT: Oracular Spectacular

17. Dinosaur Jr.: Farm

16. Dashboard Confessional: A Mark, A Mission, A Brand, A Scar

15. The xx: xx

14. Au Revoir Simone: Still Night, Still Light

13. The Antlers: Hospice

12. Ra Ra Riot: The Rhumb Line

11. Bon Iver: For Emma, Forever Ago

10. The Radio Dept.: Pet Grief

9. Sufjan Stevens: Come On Feel The Illinoise

8. Fleet Foxes: Fleet Foxes

7. Death Cab For Cutie: Plans

6. Band Of Horses: Cease To Begin

5.  Wye Oak: The Knot

4. Patrick Watson: Closer To Paradise

3. Radiohead: In Rainbows

2. My Morning Jacket: At Dawn

1. Coldplay: Parachutes

Number 1s:

  • Paste– Sufjan Stevens: Illinoise
  • Uncut– The White Stripes: White Blood Cells
  • eMusic– The Strokes: Is This It
  • Gorilla vs. Bear– Raekwon: Only Built For Cuban Link Pt. II
  • Pitchfork– Radiohead: Kid A
  • Q Magazine– Kasabian: West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum

UPDATE: Tons more listener lists here

One response to “Music’s Best of the Decade

  1. I can’t believe no one has left a comment yet on this post, so i will.

    I enjoyed the list. I could enjoy any of these albums (and some i already do), but none of them make my top 25.

    In my top 50 list, which is drastically different and much more “punk” oriented, we share only 2 albums and 1 band but a different album, MGMT – Oracular Spectactular, Death Cab – Plans, & Band Of Horses (although I prefer Everything All The Time, which is in my honorable mention). If i had more time with the XX, i think I could one day include that in my top 50. I really enjoy a lot of their songs, especially their eerie sounding single Crystalised. In fact, if I were to make an independent horror film one day (#37 on my list of things to do before I die), that song would be the intro to the movie.

Leave a Reply

